Scale-up Suite Help
Using your License
Activation / Configuration

Scale-up Suite comes with Scale-up Manager as a central component to manage license entitlements and keep users aware of the licenses they are consuming.

After installation, users need to activate Scale-up Suite by signing into Scale-up Manager with their Scale-up Account. Users who don’t have an account yet can sign up for one at  https://account.scale-up.com/signupsus.

When signing in, Scale-up Manager connects to a license server via the internet to retrieve license entitlements (configuration) for the user and displays the products which that user is entitled to use.

 

Based on these entitlements, certain software features and components (like Office Add-ins) will be enabled or disabled. Office applications need to be restarted after Scale-up Suite Add-ins are enabled in order to load the respective Add-in.

Scale-up Manager will refresh user entitlements at regular intervals and adjust the configuration accordingly. Expired entitlements will be removed and newly acquired licenses added.  The configuration can also be refreshed on demand by clicking the Refresh icon at the top right.

Obtaining a License

Activating or refreshing user entitlements enables or disables Scale-up Suite features or components, but it does not necessarily start a license session on the current computer.

For Shared Licenses in particular, a license session is only started when a given feature or component is used. At this time, Scale-up Manager needs to connect to a license server on the internet again to obtain a license. If the license request is successful, the feature may be used.

Alternatively, a license can be obtained explicitly using Scale-up Manager by clicking the down arrow icon next to a listed product. 



A green tick will be displayed if a Personal License was obtained and is in use. 

For Shared Licenses a green up arrow will be displayed as a reminder that the license was obtained from a shared pool and should be returned to it after use.



When closing Scale-up Manager while a Shared License is in use, Scale-up Manager will still be shown in the Windows Taskbar as a reminder that Shared Licenses need to be returned. If only Personal or no licenses are in use, Scale-up Manager will be hidden completely when closed.

Returning a License

A license will be requested automatically form the license server when starting to use Scale-up Suite functionality. Licenses can be explicitly returned to the server, in order to make them available for use on another computer.

To return a license, click the green tick icon for Personal Licenses or the green up arrow icon for Shared licenses.

  

Offline Use

If a license session is in use while the computer has no internet connection, Scale-up Manager will display a yellow tick icon.  This indicates usage of the offline allowance for that license.  Roll the mouse over the yellow icon to see how much offline time is left for a license session.

 

Inactive Use of a Shared License

For Shared Licenses only: If a license session is running but no applications are open which can use the software, the license session will be marked as inactive after one hour and scheduled for automatic license release 2 hours later.  An orange up arrow will be displayed. Roll the mouse over the icon to see how much time is left until automatic release.

    

The license session will be treated as active again as soon as the software is used.

View Open Sessions

Information about currently open sessions for a license can be viewed by:

This is useful when a license cannot be obtained because all licenses are in use. 

Shared Licenses with Usage Visibility enabled:

Personal Licenses

See Also

 

 


Copyright © Scale-up Systems Ltd.